Riots I Have Known: Ryan Chapman and Jason Diamond (PRINCE STREET)

An electric, uproarious, and biting debut novel set during a prison riot, told in a high-comic pitch in the tradition of Paul Beatty’s The Sellout and Aravind Adiga’s The White Tiger. An unnamed Sri Lankan inmate has barricaded himself inside a prison computer lab in Dutchess County, New York. A riot rages outside, incited by a poem published in The Holding Pen, the house literary journal. This, our narrator’s final Editor’s Letter, is his confession. An official accounting of events, as they happened. As he awaits imminent and violent interruption, he takes us on a roller coaster ride of plot and language, determined to share his life story, and maybe answer a few questions. How did he end up here? Should he have remained a quiet Park Avenue doorman? Or continued his rise in the black markets of postwar Sri Lanka?

Ryan Chapman is a Sri Lankan-American writer originally from Minneapolis, Minnesota. His work has appeared online at The New Yorker, GQ, Bookforum, BOMB, Guernica, and The Believer. He is a recipient of fellowships from Vermont Studio Center and the Millay Colony for the Arts. He lives in upstate New York. Riots I Have Known is his first novel.

Jason Diamond is the author of the memoir Searching for John Hughes (HarperCollins/William Morrow). His next book, The Sprawl, will be published by Coffee House Press in 2020.

 

Event date: 

Monday, June 10, 2019 - 7:00pm

Event address: 

52 Prince Street
New York, NY 10012 MANHATTAN , NY United States
Riots I Have Known Cover Image
$24.00
ISBN: 9781501197307
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster - May 21st, 2019