An Evening of Poetry with Milkweed Editions

November 22nd

McNally Jackson Virtual Event

Join us for an evening of poetry and indie-press appreciation, featuring Milkweed Editions’ authors Michael Bazzett, Michael Kleber-Diggs, Wayne Miller, and Devon Walker-Figueroa as they present their new collections.

About MILKWEED EDITIONS: Just as the common milkweed plant is the site of metamorphosis for monarch butterflies, Milkweed Editions seeks to be a site of metamorphosis in the literary ecosystem. We take risks on debut and experimental writers, we invest significant time and care in the editorial process, and we enable dynamic engagement between authors and readers. We operate as a nonprofit to pursue these ends without overbearing financial pressure. Since our founding in 1980, we’ve published over 350 books of literary fiction, nonfiction, and poetry and now have over four million copies in circulation. We believe that literature has the potential to change the way we see the world, and that bringing new voices to essential conversations is the clearest path to ensuring a vibrant, diverse, and empowered future.

MICHAEL BAZZETT is the author of four collections of poetry, most recently The Echo Chamber, (Milkweed, 2021). A recipient of awards from the Frost Place and the NEA, his poems have appeared in The American Poetry Review, Tin House, The Threepenny Review, The Sun, The Nation, and Ploughshares. His verse translation of the Mayan creation epic, The Popol Vuh, (Milkweed, 2018) was named one of 2018’s best books of poetry by the NY Times & longlisted for the National Translation Award.

MICHAEL KLEBER-DIGGS is a poet, essayist, and literary critic. His debut poetry collection, Worldly Things, won the Max Ritvo Poetry Prize (Milkweed Editions, 2021). His essay, “On the Complex Flavors of Black Joy,” is included in the anthology There’s a Revolution Outside, My Love: Letters from a Crisis, edited by Tracy K. Smith and John Freeman. Among other places, Michael’s writing has appeared or is forthcoming in Great River Review, Water~Stone Review, Poem-a-Day, Poetry Daily, Poetry Northwest, Potomac Review, Hunger Mountain, Memorious, and a few anthologies.

DEVON WALKER-FIGUEROA is the author of Philomath, selected for the 2020 National Poetry Series by Sally Keith. A graduate of Bennington College and the Iowa Writers’ Workshop, her writing has appeared in The Nation, POETRY, the American Poetry Review, Lana Turner, Ploughshares, and elsewhere. She is the current Jill Davis Fellow in fiction at NYU, where she teaches undergraduate creative writing courses.

WAYNE MILLER is the author of five poetry collections, most recently We the Jury (Milkweed, 2021) and Post- (2016), which won the UNT Rilke Prize and the Colorado Book Award. He has co-translated two books by the Albanian writer Moikom Zeqo, most recently Zodiac (Zephyr, 2015), which was shortlisted for the PEN Center USA Award in Translation. His work has received the George Bogin, Lucille Medwick, and Lyric Poetry Awards from the Poetry Society of America; the Bess Hokin Prize from Poetry; a Ruth Lilly Fellowship from the Poetry Foundation; and a Fulbright Distinguished Scholarship to the Seamus Heaney Centre at Queen's University in Northern Ireland. He teaches at the University of Colorado Denver, co-directs the Unsung Masters Series, and edits Copper Nickel.

Buy the Book: 
Philomath: Poems Cover Image
ISBN: 9781571315229
Availability: On Our Shelves
Published: Milkweed Editions - September 14th, 2021

The Echo Chamber: Poems Cover Image
ISBN: 9781571315380
Availability: Not On Our Shelves - Available to Order
Published: Milkweed Editions - October 12th, 2021

We the Jury: Poems Cover Image
ISBN: 9781571315311
Availability: Not On Our Shelves - Available to Order
Published: Milkweed Editions - March 9th, 2021

Worldly Things Cover Image
ISBN: 9781571315168
Availability: On Our Shelves
Published: Milkweed Editions - June 8th, 2021