Breaking the Silence: Jesse Ball talks to Christopher Bollen

Silence is the anchor of Jesse Ball's fourth novel--the silence of a wrongfully accused suspect who refuses to speak even as execution looms. Around it are a series of disappearances, mysterious playing cards, a love story, and an obsessive journalist. Silence Once Begun is another novel of groundbreaking experimentation from Ball, in which the telling of truth puts truth itself into question. Ball will be joined in Conversation by Christopher Bollen, journalist, editor, and author of Lightning People. “Take heart: for all the talk about the staleness of the contemporary American novel, here is a young writer unafraid to muddy the waters.”—The Daily BeastJesse Ball is the author of three previous novels, including Samedi the Deafness, and several books of verse, bestiaries, and sketchbooks. His awards include the 2008 Paris Review Plimpton Prize; his verse has been included in the Best American Poetry series. He gives classes on lucid dreaming and lying at the School of the Art Institute of Chicago.

Buy the Book: 
Staff Pick Badge
Silence Once Begun Cover Image
Email or call for availability
ISBN: 9780307908483
Published: Pantheon Books - January 28th, 2014

The Way Through Doors (Vintage Contemporaries) Cover Image
ISBN: 9780307387462
Availability: On Our Shelves
Published: Vintage - February 10th, 2009

The Curfew (Vintage Contemporaries) Cover Image
ISBN: 9780307739858
Availability: On Our Shelves
Published: Vintage - June 14th, 2011

Samedi the Deafness (Vintage Contemporaries) Cover Image
ISBN: 9780307278852
Availability: On Our Shelves
Published: Vintage - September 4th, 2007