Art Sex Music: Cosey Fanni Tutti & Lenny Kaye

Art Sex Music is the autobiography of a musician who, as a founding member of the avant-garde group Throbbing Gristle and electronic pioneers Chris & Cosey, has consistently challenged the boundaries of music over the past four decades. As part of COUM Transmissions, Cosey Fanni Tutti represented Britain at the IXth Biennale de Paris. The group’s Prostitution show at the ICA in 1976 caused the Conservative MP Nicholas Fairbairn to declare her, COUM and Throbbing Gristle “Wreckers of Civilization”—shortly before he was arrested for indecent exposure. The book is the story of her work as a pornographic model and striptease artiste which challenged assumptions about morality, erotica, and art. Sasha Grey says, "Cosey Fanni Tutti is the personification of self empowerment, her art and music has made an imprint unto several generations of curious minds. We all imagine the stories of our heroes, but it's a true pleasure to hear them from the original Wrecker of Civilization herself." Cosey Fanni Tutti’s most recent release, f(x), with her group Carter Tutti Void, was released to critical acclaim in 2016. She will be joined by Lenny Kaye, a writer and musician who was a member of the Patti Smith Group.

Buy the Book: 
Art Sex Music Cover Image
Unavailable, our apologies.
ISBN: 9780571328512
Availability: Out of Print
Published: Faber & Faber Social - May 1st, 2017