Jawbreaker (Kobo eBook)

Jawbreaker By Christina Wyman Cover Image
$9.99
Available Now

Description


A USA Today bestseller perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier's Smile, this refreshingly honest middle-grade debut novel is about toxic sibling rivalry, socioeconomic disparity, and dental drama.

Smile meets Wonder in Wyman’s affirming debut.****”Publishers Weekly, starred review

“A hugely relatable must-read.”Kirkus Reviews, starred review

Max Plink’s life is complicated. Her parents aren’t getting along. The school bullies are relentless—and her own sister is the cruelest of them. Worst of all, her mouth is a mess. With a mismatched puzzle of a jaw, Max has a Class II malocclusion, otherwise known as a severe overbite. She already has braces, which means she lives on Advil and soft foods after each orthodontist appointment. But now Max has to wear painful (and totally awkward) orthodontic headgear nicknamed “the jawbreaker.” Could things get any worse?

Yes. The journalism competition Max wants to enter has a video component. But being on camera means showing her face not just to her junior high classmates, but possibly the whole city. Going viral is the last thing Max needs, but winning this competition is what she wants most. Turns out, following her dreams is complicated, too.

Inspired by Christina Wyman’s own experience with a Class II malocclusion, Jawbreaker is a humorous, heartfelt, and refreshingly relatable story.

Product Details
ISBN-13: 9780374389703
Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR)
Publication Date: October 24th, 2023
Language: