Muse: A Portrait of Grayson Perry (Hardcover)

Muse: A Portrait of Grayson Perry By Richard Ansett Cover Image
$50.00
On Our Shelves Now
SoHo
1 on hand, as of Feb 25 9:03am
(PHOTOGRAPHY)
Williamsburg
2 on hand, as of Feb 25 3:18am
(PHOTOGRAPHY)

Description


- Stunning photos of Grayson Perry's alter ego Claire

- Masterful outfit designs

- Outstanding photography by award-winner Richard Ansett

- Witty, stylish and irreverent

- Perfect for fans of Grayson Perry, art, fashion and photography

Grayson Perry is an award-winning artist best known in the art world for his ceramicworks. To the wider public, he is perhaps equally famous for hiscross-dressing alter ego. This book reveals a unique relationship between Perry and renowned portrait photographer Richard Ansett through a previously unseen archivefromphotoshoots spanning over 10 years.
Ansett astutely captures the wit, style and irreverence of Perry's many complex personas. Beyond the snazzy outfits and cheeky poses, these thematic portrait collections offer wry social commentaries on current and popular phenomena, including the EU referendum, American pop culture and the existential questions of life and death.
At once glossy, fabulous and cutting-edge, Muse: A Portrait of Grayson Perryoffers a complex, fascinating and ultimately affectionate insight into our recently knighted national treasurewith anecdotes and narration from Ansett himself, this is a masterpiece of rhetorical observations and quick-thinking camerawork. Perfect for art geeks, style freaks and Perry's long-devoted following.

About the Author


Richard Ansett is a fine art social documentary and portrait photographer based in London, UK. His images have been acquired by the National Portrait Gallery, London, his portrait of the film director David Lynch was acquired by the Smithsonian, USA, and his portrait of film director David Cronenberg acquired by the National Canadian Library and Archives. A portrait of a boy with a head injury from the Donbas region of Ukraine and a bather from the same region have been acquired by Bibliotheque National de France. His portrait BIRTH - A Portrait of Grayson Perry was awarded first prize at the Sony World Photography Awards 2019 and his series of portraits exploring the complex mental health of women prisoners and the series exploring a disappearing community in South London, Behind The Brutal Facade, 2020 were both shortlisted subsequently for the same awards. The series fat won Gold Award at PX3 Prix de la Photographie Paris.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781788842327
ISBN-10: 1788842324
Publisher: Acc Art Books
Publication Date: October 31st, 2023
Pages: 112
Language: English