Seven Pomegranate Seeds (Oberon Modern Plays) (Paperback)

Seven Pomegranate Seeds (Oberon Modern Plays) By Colin Teevan Cover Image
Not On Our Shelves - Available to Order


The Seven Pomegranate Seeds are seven contemporary monologues for female speakers, thematically linked and with powerful mythical origins. Loosely based on seven of Euripides' female characters - Medea, Phedra, Demeter, Persephone, Hypsipyle, Creusa and Alcestis - these monologues explore classical mother and child stories in the context of modern Britain. With the tale of an abducted child echoing throughout and reflecting cases such as the Moors Murders, Madeline McCann and Louise Woodward, these individual monologues come together in a compelling conclusion.

Originally commissioned by the Onassis Foundation and performed for their inaugural event in Oxford by Claire Higgins, this volume is published to coincide with Teevan's professorial inaugural lecture on June 11 2014, at Birkbeck, University of London and is accompanied by his short introductory lecture.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781783191314
ISBN-10: 1783191317
Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Publication Date: June 2nd, 2015
Pages: 82
Language: English
Series: Oberon Modern Plays