The Socialite's Guide to Death and Dating (A Pinnacle Hotel Mystery #2) (Hardcover)

The Socialite's Guide to Death and Dating (A Pinnacle Hotel Mystery #2) By S. K. Golden Cover Image
$30.99
Not On Our Shelves - Available to Order

Other Books in Series

This is book number 2 in the A Pinnacle Hotel Mystery series.

Description


Perfect for fans of Rhys Bowen and Ashley Weaver, the second Pinnacle Hotel mystery finds another murder that strikes too close to home, and hotel heiress Evelyn Murphy knows she’s the only one who can save the hotel before it’s lights out.

New York, 1958. Even though Evelyn Murphy has made progress conquering her agoraphobia by leaving the Pinnacle, she still feels most comfortable in her father's hotel. With Malcolm Cooper, her new boyfriend and fellow employee at the hotel, Evelyn feels prepared for whatever happens next. In this case, it’s throwing a big fundraiser with the who’s who of New York City.

The night is a success, and Evelyn finally takes up Malcolm’s offer to finally visit his apartment in Yonkers. As the party ends, they sneak away to the garage to get Evelyn's car. But Evelyn's always been good at finding things, and she discovers the dead body of a guest, Judge Baker, in a car—with a needle in his arm.

Detective Hodgson and his new partner, Detective McJimsey, arrive on the scene, but before they can begin to question Evelyn, they are startled by another mysterious discovery: there’s a woman in the trunk of the car, and she screams as soon as she sees Evelyn’s face. Tangled up in the police investigation, Evelyn’s got another problem, too—her father insists she break off her relationship with Mac. The next day, her father is found attacked just like the judge, only this time the detectives find a dead woman nearby.

With Mac accused of the attacks and in police custody, Evelyn will have to find the killer on her own before she’s checked out of the hotel—this time, for good.

About the Author


Sarah K Golden is the author of the cozy mystery The Socialite's Guide to Murder. Born and raised in the Florida Keys, she married a commercial fisherman. The two of them still live on the islands with their five kids (one boy, four girls — including identical twins!), two cats, and a corgi named Goku. She graduated from Saint Leo University with a bachelor’s degree in Human Services and Administration and has put it to good use approximately zero times. She’s worked as a bank teller, a pharmacy technician, and an executive assistant at her father’s church. Sarah is delighted to be doing none of those things now. Learn more at www.skgoldenwrites.com

Praise For…


Praise for The Socialite’s Guide to Death and Dating:
“Vividly evokes the 1950s.”
Kirkus Reviews

“[Golden] does a great job making the era come to life.”
Manhattan Book Review

“Impressively original and narrative driven storytelling.”
Midwest Book Review

“An enjoyable cozy for the fall season.”
Gumshoe Review

“Clever . . . a charmingly odd series with a truly interesting heroine.”
Aunt Agatha’s Review

Praise for The Socialite's Guide to Murder:

“A sprightly series launch . . . Golden channels the spirit of the late Hugh Pentecost’s Beaumont Hotel.”
Publishers Weekly

“[A] decorous whodunnit festooned with period trappings.”
Kirkus Reviews

“[For] readers who enjoyed other hotel-set mysteries with young amateur sleuths, like Nita Prose’s The Maid.
Library Journal

“Effectively evokes the social milieu of the late 1950s.”
Booklist

“A witty, lighthearted mystery novel.”
Foreword Reviews

“If you love cozy mysteries and charming characters, you will love this book.”
Manhattan Book Review, 5-star review

“The humor, insight, and sharp wit make this a light and refreshing read.”
Historical Novel Society

“It’s as if Eloise is all grown up and a sassy, savvy sleuth at the Plaza hotel! Hotel owner’s daughter Evie Murphy is smart and daring in this delightful Golden Age mystery”
—Rhys Bowen, New York Times bestselling author of the Royal Spyness mysteries

The Socialite’s Guide to Murder is nonstop entertainment—at turns witty, charming, touching, and spellbinding. An enticing treat for cozy mystery fans.”
—Kelly Oliver, award-winning and bestselling author of the Fiona Figg Mysteries.

“This book has all the things I love in a mystery novel – a unique sleuth, a quirky cast of suspects, and a twisty whodunnit. Throw in scandal, secrets and a luxury hotel setting, and I’m hooked. The Socialite’s Guide to Murder is an engaging debut that had me turning the pages quickly to find the answers.”
—C. J. Archer, USA Today bestselling author of the Cleopatra Fox Mysteries

“An endearing heroine, a luxury hotel, and a bevy of suspects pepper this delightful debut title by S. K. Golden . . . A fun romp in a glitzy setting with a spunky sleuth!”
—Nancy J. Cohen, award-winning author of the Bad Hair Day Mysteries

“A delightful tale of glamour and murder at a luxury hotel in 1950s New York City . . . A wonderful romp of a mystery!”
—Dianne Freeman, author of the Agatha and Lefty award-winning Countess of Harleigh Mysteries

“A rip roaring historical mystery, jam-packed with wit and glamour and endearing characters. Murder has never been this fun!”
—T.A. Willberg, author of the Marion Lane series
Product Details
ISBN: 9781639104857
ISBN-10: 1639104852
Publisher: Crooked Lane Books
Publication Date: October 10th, 2023
Pages: 336
Language: English
Series: A Pinnacle Hotel Mystery