Czech Suite, Op.39 / B.93: Study score (Paperback)

Czech Suite, Op.39 / B.93: Study score By Antonin Dvorak, Otakar Sourek (Editor) Cover Image
Not On Our Shelves - Available to Order


Composed rapidly during April of 1879 in the wake of his success with the two serenades (Opp.22 and 44), Dvorak this time incorporated Czech folk dances into his new work, which was to be for full orchestra. The term serenade, then more often associated with chanber or ensemble pieces (the Opp.22 and 44 were for strings and winds respectively) didn't quite fit and the new piece was designated the Czech Suite. It received its premiere ar the Provisional Theatre in Prague on May 16, 1879 with the theatre orchestra conducted by Adolf Cech, with Dvorak conducting it himself the next year to raise funds for the construction of the National Theatre.This new study score is a digitally enhanced reissue of the full score first published in 1955 by the Czech State Publishers as part of the Dvorak collected works, edited by Otakar Sourek. In contrast so many of the on-demand scores now available this one comes with all the pages with each image thoroughly checked to make sure it is readable, then beautifully printed on quality stock with an attractive glossy cover. The matching large conductor score and orchestral parts are also available from Serenissima Music.

Product Details
ISBN: 9781608741779
ISBN-10: 160874177X
Publisher: Petrucci Library Press
Publication Date: August 5th, 2015
Pages: 68
Language: English