Eros the Bittersweet (American Literature (Dalkey Archive)) (Paperback)

Staff Pick Badge
Eros the Bittersweet (American Literature (Dalkey Archive)) Cover Image
Unavailable, our apologies.
Sorry, We Can Not Obtain this Book at This Time

Staff Reviews


Essential reading for those who've ever used an alphabet or fallen in love. This is literary criticism for the impassioned, who are seized by the need to write romantic notes, songs, and poems, but are also curious to understand why they're doing so. The answers are traceable to the very birth of writing.

— Matt

Description


Selected by the Modern Library as one of the 100 best nonfiction books of all time

A book about romantic love, Eros the Bittersweet is Anne Carson's exploration of the concept of "eros" in both classical philosophy and literature. Beginning with, "It was Sappho who first called eros 'bittersweet.' No one who has been in love disputes her," Carson examines her subject from numerous points of view, creating a lyrical meditation in the tradition of William Carlos Williams's Spring and All and William H. Gass's On Being Blue.

About the Author


Anne Carson is the author of "Glass, Irony and God"; "Autobiography of Red"; "The Beauty of the Husband"; "Men in the Off Hours"; and other books.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781564781888
ISBN-10: 1564781887
Publisher: Dalkey Archive Press
Publication Date: March 1st, 1998
Pages: 190
Language: English
Series: American Literature (Dalkey Archive)