Embroidered Life: The Art of Sarah K. Benning (Modern Hand Stitched Embroidery, Craft Art Books) (Hardcover)

Embroidered Life: The Art of Sarah K. Benning (Modern Hand Stitched Embroidery, Craft Art Books) Cover Image
$24.95
On Our Shelves
Nolita
1 on hand, as of Nov 30 6:18am
(CRAFTS)
Seaport
1 on hand, as of Nov 30 6:43am
(CRAFTS)
Downtown Brooklyn
1 on hand, as of Nov 30 6:18am
(CRAFTS)

Description


Embroidered Life shows that illustrations created with needle and thread can be strikingly contemporary and absolutely breathtaking.

This is not your grandma's embroidery book:
From beautiful botanicals to bold affirmations, the work of self-taught fiber artist Sarah K. Benning gives any embroidery enthusiast, art lover, or plant fanatic a new appreciation for the craft of needlework.
• Learn the intricacies of Benning's innovative embroidery process and successful business model, offering behind-the-scenes insights to inspire makers and creative entrepreneurs
• Brightly colored photographs of her work are displayed throughout with written notes explaining the meaning and process behind the stitches
• Stunning photographs of her best work captures the essence of her needlework and helps to inspires the readers own creativity
• Features a die-cut case with actually stitching on the front cover, making it an attractive, touchable coffee table book

Fans of Punch Needle and Almost Lost Arts will also enjoy learning about the way embroidery floss becomes stunning works of art.

• Sarah K. Benning is a contemporary embroidery artist based in New Hampshire who creates highly detailed, hand-stitched works; writes DIY patterns for other embroidery practitioners; and teaches workshops all over the world
• Sara Barnes is a freelance writer and artist, and author of the blog Brown Paper Bag
Embroidered Life makes an inspiring gift for any artist or avid crafter

About the Author


Sara Barnes is a freelance writer and artist, and author of the blog Brown Paper Bag. She lives in Baltimore, Maryland.

Sarah K. Benning is a contemporary embroidery artist based in New Hampshire who creates highly detailed, hand-stitched works; writes DIY patterns for other embroidery practitioners; and teaches workshops all over the world.

Praise For…


“Embroidery artist Sarah Benning has a way with a needle and thread. Her fabric and filament creations are next-level inventive, giving the everyday houseplant a vibrant new life.… In Embroidered Life she talks about her innovative process and successful business model, offering behind-the-scenes insight that will inspire both makers and entrepreneurs.” —Sweet Paul Magazine
Product Details
ISBN: 9781452173467
ISBN-10: 145217346X
Publisher: Chronicle Books
Publication Date: September 3rd, 2019
Pages: 144
Language: English