Old Wounds (Library Binding)

Pre-Order Now Badge
Old Wounds By Logan-Ashley Kisner Cover Image
$22.99
Unavailable
Not Yet Published - Other Formats May Be Available

Description


Two transgender teens end up in a small, isolated town, where they must escape the locals who plan to sacrifice one of them to an ancient monster that only eats girls. A pulse-pounding thriller perfect for fans of Midsommar and Hell Followed with Us!

Erin and Max are two transgender teens trying to get to California. Max is desperate to finally transition, and Erin is longing to understand why she’s on this trip to begin with. The last she spoke to Max was when he suddenly broke up with her two years ago.

But when they find themselves stranded in the middle of the woods in a small Kentucky town, they realize they have much bigger problems. The locals need a female sacrifice for the monster that lives in the woods—according to them, the sun won’t come up again until the monster eats a girl . . . and it only eats what it kills. Fighting back is futile; no one selected as the offering has ever survived the night. 

When the two strangers show up, the locals believe they have the perfect candidate. The irony of the situation is almost too much to fathom.

The thing is, the locals don’t know who they just trapped as their sacrifice. They don’t know Erin’s and Max’s secrets, which could be a death sentence on a good day. And the monster that lives in their woods has never faced prey who have already fought so hard to live.

About the Author


Logan-Ashley Kisner was born, raised, and continues to blindly wander around Las Vegas, Nevada. He graduated from UNLV with a Bachelor’s degree in Creative Writing and a minor in Film Studies. As a transgender man and horror aficionado, he’s also spent the last few years as a historian, critic, and analyst of transgender characters and imagery often used in the horror genre. He’s been published on several horror websites (including Dread Central and Slay Away With Us) and his reading of The Evil Dead as a trans narrative was published in Hear Us Scream: The Voices of Horror Volume II.

Praise For…


“A terrifying, masterful debut that’s startlingly original while remaining pure horror to its bones. Old Wounds is a gripping exploration of gender, sacrifice and the real monsters we’re running from.” —Lex Croucher, New York Times bestselling author of Gwen & Art Are Not in Love

“Wholly original, endlessly subversive, and genuinely terrifying, Old Wounds is doing something completely fresh in contemporary horror.” —Laura Steven, author of The Society for Soulless Girls
 
“Terrifying, tender, and unflinchingly honest. Old Wounds demands your attention from the very first page and never lets up.” —Rory Power, New York Times bestselling author of Wilder Girls

“Breathtakingly tense and stunningly original, Old Wounds offers a nightmarish ride through the backwoods of rural America.” —Amy Goldsmith, author of Those We Drown
 
Old Wounds
is a riveting, spine-chilling horror story that will shred your nerves and shatter your heart in the best and worst ways. A phenomenal debut.” —Kat Ellis, author of Harrow Lake
Product Details
ISBN: 9780593814758
ISBN-10: 0593814754
Publisher: Delacorte Press
Publication Date: September 10th, 2024
Pages: 336
Language: English