Not Your Average Jo (Hardcover)

Not Your Average Jo By Grace K. Shim Cover Image
$19.99
On Our Shelves Now
SoHo
1 on hand, as of Jun 19 6:21pm
(YA)
Williamsburg
1 on hand, as of Jun 20 3:00pm
(YA)
Seaport
1 on hand, as of Jun 19 6:09pm
(YA)
Downtown Brooklyn
1 on hand, as of Jun 21 12:15am
(YA)
Rockefeller
1 on hand, as of Jun 20 9:12pm
(YA)

Description


From the author of THE NOH FAMILY, a second standalone YA novel that follows a Korean American teen as she navigates the treacherous world of nepo babies and cultural appropriation that is the Los Angeles music scene. Perfect for fans of Mary H. K. Choi, Maurene Goo, and Emiko Jean.

Riley Jo is a teenager who knows what she wants. Born and raised in Bentonville, Arkansas, this Korean American girl has her sights set on being a musician. So when her parents are surprisingly cool about her attending the prestigious Los Angeles–based arts-focused boarding school her senior year of high school, she jumps at the chance. This is her moment to make her indie rock dreams a reality! 

Things at Carlmont Academy start out strong: She joins a band, and they set out to make plans to perform at the annual spring concert—with a chance to land a record contract. Another student, Xander, decides his school project will be a documentary about the band leading up to their first show. But not everything goes how Riley Jo imagined. She is soon sidelined when her other bandmates feel she is "too Asian" to be their lead singer, and they choose her classmate Bodhi Collins for the role instead.

Bodhi is rock music royalty, with a dad who is a famous music exec. And he's got the "all-American rock star look." Her classmates suggest she try making K-pop,  but her heart is in indie rock. Riley Jo decides to take matters into her own hands and writes an original song to showcase her talent. But Bodhi takes the credit . . . and given his connections, the band lets him.

Xander captures all of this in his film, which he leaks in order to show the truth behind the band. Riley Jo decides to sign up for the spring concert and perform on her own . . . but will she finally be able to take center stage?

About the Author


Grace K. Shim lives with her husband and three children in the San Francisco Bay Area. She is the author of the young adult novels The Noh Family and Not Your Average Jo. You can find Grace on Twitter @gracemisplaced1 and on Instagram @gkshimwrites.

Praise For…


Praise for Not Your Average Jo By Grace K. Shim:

This enjoyable coming-of-age story explores a number of powerful themes connected to the music industry, nepotism, race, discrimination, and speaking up against prejudice...A compelling, music-centered story of self-discovery and finding your voice. -- Kirkus Reviews

"
The light tone and happy conclusion make this a good choice for younger teens who enjoy themes of being true to yourself, finding your voice, and changing the entertainment industry in the process." --- Booklist
Product Details
ISBN: 9780593462768
ISBN-10: 0593462769
Publisher: Kokila
Publication Date: March 12th, 2024
Pages: 320
Language: English