The Face on the Milk Carton (The Face on the Milk Carton Series) (Paperback)

The Face on the Milk Carton (The Face on the Milk Carton Series) By Caroline B. Cooney Cover Image
$10.99
On Our Shelves Now
SoHo
1 on hand, as of Jul 19 12:00pm
(UP - C-UPPER GRADE 627)
Seaport
1 on hand, as of Jul 19 11:55am
(UP - C-UPPER GRADE 627)
Downtown Brooklyn
1 on hand, as of Jul 19 12:09pm
(UP - C-UPPER GRADE 627)
Rockefeller
1 on hand, as of Jul 19 11:55am
(YA)

Description


A psychological thriller about a teenager who sees her own face staring back at her from a missing children's notice on the back of a milk carton. An emotionally evocative and chilling read that seamlessly blends mystery and suspense for fans of A GOOD GIRL'S GUIDE TO MURDER and WE WERE LIARS.

“It's a gripper. You can't put it down.” —Entertainment Weekly

"A real page-turner." Kirkus Reviews


No one ever really paid close attention to the faces of the missing children on the milk cartons. But as Janie Johnson glanced at the face of the ordinary little girl with her hair in tight pigtails, wearing a dress with a narrow white collar—a three-year-old who had been kidnapped twelve years before from a shopping mall in New Jersey—she felt overcome with shock. She recognized that little girl—it was her. How could it possibly be true?

Janie can't believe that her loving parents kidnapped her, but as she begins to piece things together, nothing makes sense. Something is terribly wrong. Are Mr. and Mrs. Johnson really her parents? And if not, who is Janie Johnson, and what really happened?

About the Author


CAROLINE B. COONEY is the bestselling author of more than thirty young adult books, including the million-copy plus bestseller, The Face on the Milk Carton. Her newest novel written for adults, Before She Was Helen, has been nominated for the 2021 Edgar Allen Poe Award.

Praise For…


Praise for the Janie Johnson series:

The Face on the Milk Carton An IRA-CBC Children’s Choice

“It's a gripper. You can't put it down until you've gone through the whole trauma with Janie Johnson, from that first moment of horrified recognition to the thoroughly satisfying conclusion.” —Entertainment Weekly

“Those of us of a certain age devoured this book. . . . It made us think, and keep thinking about it, even after we finished reading. For many of us, too, it was the kickoff to a lifelong love of reading, particularly in the genres of suspense and horror.” —The Atlantic

“Absorbing and convincing. Strong characterizations and suspenseful, impeccably paced action add to this novel’s appeal.” —Publishers Weekly

“Cooney again demonstrates an excellent ear for dialogue and a gift for portraying responsible middle-class teenagers trying to come to terms with very real concerns.” —School Library Journal

Whatever Happened to Janie? An ALA-YALSA Best Book for Young Adults

★ “The power and nature of love is wrenchingly illustrated throughout this provocative novel, which expresses multiple points of view with remarkable understanding.” —Publishers Weekly, starred review

The Voice on the Radio An ALA-YALSA Best Book for Young Adults

★ “Cooney’s outstanding command of emotional tension has taken this novel to extraordinary heights.” —School Library Journal, starred review
Product Details
ISBN: 9780385742382
ISBN-10: 038574238X
Publisher: Ember
Publication Date: May 22nd, 2012
Pages: 208
Language: English
Series: The Face on the Milk Carton Series