The Collected Poems of Eugenio Montale: 1925-1977 (Hardcover)

The Collected Poems of Eugenio Montale: 1925-1977 Cover Image
Unavailable, our apologies.
Special order, subject to availability. Arrives in our store in 10+ days if available

Description


Hailed as one of the key poets of the modern era, Eugenio Montale changed Italian poetry forever and helped to create international Modernism. Steeped in the tradition of Dante, Petrarch, and Leopardi, yet fiercely innovative, in each new book Montale challenged the styles he had previously established. His poems chart an adventure of consciousness and conscience in response to the shocks of modernity, fascism, and two world wars, and they also present several of the greatest erotic sequences in modern poetry.

The Collected Poems of Eugenio Montale publishes for the first time in English William Arrowsmith's pellucid translations of Poetic Diary 1971, 1972, and the Poetic Notebook, as well as his previously published translations of four volumes: Cuttlefish Bones, The Occasions, The Storm and Other Things, and Satura. With the wide range of Montale's poetry at last available to the English reader, this collection reveals Montale to be the greatest Italian poet of the twentieth century.

Product Details
ISBN: 9780393080636
ISBN-10: 0393080633
Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company
Publication Date: January 30th, 2012
Pages: 793
Language: English