The Selection (Paperback)

The Selection Cover Image
$9.99
On Our Shelves Now
1 on hand, as of Jul 26 11:37pm
(C-YOUNG ADULT)

Description


The first book in the captivating, #1 New York Times bestselling Selection series Discover a breathless fairy-tale romance with swoon-worthy characters, glittering gowns, fierce intrigue, and a dystopian world that will captivate readers who loved Veronica Roth's Divergent, Ally Condie's Matched, and Lauren Oliver's Delirium.

For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape a rigid caste system, live in a palace, and compete for the heart of gorgeous Prince Maxon. But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her, and competing for a crown she doesn t want.

Then America meets Prince Maxon and realizes that the life she's always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined.

About the Author


Kiera Cass is the #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Selection series. She is a graduate of Radford University and currently lives in Christiansburg, Virginia, with her family. Kiera spent the first nineteen years of her life by the ocean. It never tried to eat her. You can learn more about Kiera s books, YouTube videos, and love of cake at www.kieracass.com and follow her on Twitter @kieracass.

Praise For…


“An engrossing tale reminiscent of Shannon Hale’s Princess Academy and Ally Condie’s Matched. Fairy-tale lovers will lose themselves in America’s alternate reality and wish that the next glamorous sequel were waiting for them.”
-School Library Journal

“Cass’s immensely readable debut novel is a less drastic Hunger Games, with elaborate fashion and trappings. The fast-paced action will have readers gasping for the upcoming sequel.”
-Booklist

“A cross between The Hunger Games (minus the bloodsport) and The Bachelor (minus the bloodsport), this trilogy launch is a lot of fun. Cass deftly builds the chemistry between America and Maxon, while stroking the embers of America’s first, forbidden love.”
-Publishers Weekly

“Reality T.V. meets dystopian fairy tale in Kiera Cass’s delightful debut. Charming, captivating, and filled with just the right amount of swoon!”
-Kiersten White, New York Times bestselling author of Paranormalcy

Product Details
ISBN: 9780062059949
ISBN-10: 0062059947
Publisher: Harper Teen
Publication Date: March 26th, 2013
Pages: 327
Language: English
Series: Selection